Sports & Schedules

Summer & Fall Sports Information
.
                  Wellness Self-Assessment

Greetings,

There will be sports this fall!  The goal is to give athletes an opportunity to play.  It will look different than before and we will have to change our expectations from the past, but we have implemented measures to ensure the safety and well-being of our student-athletes.  Language taken from the CIAC fall sports plan states, “The CIAC emphasizes that this plan is fluid and in a perpetual state of evaluation.”  In other words, it can change at any time.

A few reminders:

  1. Information changes daily – Still awaiting clarification from CIAC regarding Girls Volleyball and Football

     

  2. Medical Clearance via Health office (in person) between 9:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. Clearance Forms

     

  3. Key Dates
    1. August 29th – Practices/Tryouts Begin in Cohorts of 10 – Tentative Schedule – Always check with coaches for most up to date information.
      1. Athletes will NOT have access to the building/locker rooms
      2. For every practice, athletes need (1.) mask, (2.) hand sanitizer, (3.) water, and (4.) fill out Wellness Self-Assessment
    2. September 10th – First in-person learning for students with last name L-Z
    3. September 21st  - 26th  Full Team Practices
    4. September 26th  - Scrimmages Begin
    5. October 1st – Games Begin
    6. November 21st - Season End Date

       

  4. Coaches/Sports Offered
    1. https://www.eosmith.org/cms/One.aspx?portalId=748209&pageId=2909081

IMPORTANT  – The the Connecticut Association of Interscholastic Sports (CIAC) has permitted a two-month extension for the required physicals for fall athletes.  Rather than an athlete required to have a physical within 13 months, it has been extended to 15 months. I hope this is helpful for you.  As a reminder, an athlete cannot participate in practices or tryouts without a recent physical, and clearance from our health office.  No exceptions.  We want to give you ample time to contact your primary care physician to schedule an appointment.

For the purpose of clarity, a physical is valid if it’s dated within the previous 15 months and will remain valid for the completion of the current athletic season.  For example, if a physical is dated November 15th, 2019, it will be valid until February 15th, 2021, therefore, an athlete will be eligible for the fall season and the start of the winter season, but will become ineligible to participate during the winter season.

Health Office Hours for Athletic Clearance:
Please submit physical verification and other requisite paper work IN PERSON to the Health Office.  All paperwork can be found on our website – found here: https://www.eosmith.org/athletics/resources

Monday, August 24th – Friday, August 28th – All fall sports


Kathryn

Day

Cheerleading

kday@eosmith.org

Greg

Tutolo

Cross Country - Boys

gtutolo@eosmith.org

Jorge

Guerra

Cross Country - Girls

jguerra@eosmith.org

Regan

Rowley

Field Hockey

rrowley@eosmith.org


James

Kelly

Football

jkelly@eosmith.org

Mike

Radlbeck

Soccer - Boys

mradlbeck@eosmith.org

Karyn

Zlotnick

Soccer - Girls

kzlotnick@eosmith.org

Gui

Estes

Soccer - Girls

gestes@eosmith.org

Dan

Furman

Swim and Diving - Girls

dfurman@eosmith.org

Diane

Vampatella

Volleyball

dvampatella@eosmith.org

 Go Panthers!

 

Dan Uriano

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.