Sports & Schedules

Summer & Fall Sports Information

Happy summer!

I know a lot of questions come up over the summer, especially for our incoming 9th graders.  Throughout the summer the athletic office will periodically access, and respond to, email, texts, and voicemail . Should you need immediate assistance, please contact Janet Kozin in the athletic office at jkozin@eosmith.org or 860-487-0877 x4964.  In the meantime, below, please find some helpful information:

Summer Lifting – Strength & Conditioning:
E.O. Smith is one of the few schools in the state offering our athletes a free strength and conditioning program.  This program is organized through trained and licensed experts.  Strength and conditioning is paramount to performing at high levels and preventing injuries.
  
Beginning Monday, July 8th, Athletic Trainers Mike DiStefano and Dylan Melo will offer 20 hours per week of strength and conditioning, Monday through Friday.  Again, this is FREE for all current E.O. Smith athletes.  The goal is to tailor programs specific to the individual needs of each athlete and create training groups based on athletes' needs.  For example, if there is a group of boys and girls soccer and field hockey athletes who are assessed and flagged/determined to be susceptible to ACL tears, that would be an integral part of their conditioning regiment.  Likewise, cross country runners may need increased core strength and lower extremity mobility...etc.
Understanding that transportation may be difficult for some families, we would like to get an idea of the best time blocks that will work best for families and/or particular teams.  Please take a moment to complete the survey at the link.  That will enable us to schedule times that are most convenient for you this summer.  Below is our tentative schedule, however, pending the results of the survey, we may make adjustments to time-slots.

Tentative Summer Strength Training Schedule – To Be finalized

Monday 10:00-2:00, 4:00-8:00
Tuesday 3:00-5:00
Wednesday 4:00-8:00
Thursday 3:00-5:00
Friday 10:00-2:00

  
Please click here to provide your preferred time slot: https://forms.gle/KPEfwShjBLMZyNpw8

Also, as an incentive for participation in this program.  The team with the highest percentage of athletes consistently attending the training sessions will receive athletic apparel for those athletes who attend (must be greater than 50% of the team, attending greater than 50% of scheduled sessions).  For more information please contact Mike DiStefano at michaeljdistefano@gmail.com

Below, please also find other pertinent information regarding participation in athletics this fall.  I have also attached our Athletics Brochure.

Participation in Fall Sports & Important dates:
Health Office Hours (Please submit physical verification and other requisite paper work)
An athlete cannot participate in practice or tryouts without clearance from our health office.  No exceptions.

Monday, August 12th - 9:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.
Tuesday, August 13th - 9:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.
Friday, August 16th - 9:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.

Impact Testing:

This is required for new students, incoming 9th graders, and 11th graders.  To be held in the E.O. Smith Library Computer Lab.  To sign up please visit our website after July 1st.

Tuesday, August 20th – 12:00 p.m., 1:00 p.m., 2:00 p.m.
Wednesday, August 21st – 12:00 p.m., 1:00 p.m., 2:00 p.m.
Thursday, August 22nd – 9:00 a.m., 10:00 a.m., 11:00 a.m.
Tuesday, August 27th – 12:00 p.m., 1:00 p.m., 2:00 p.m.
Wednesday, August 28th – 12:00 p.m., 1:00 p.m., 2:00 p.m.

Practices/Tryouts
Monday, August 19th – Football conditioning
Thursday, August 22nd – Boys & Girls Cross Country and Cheerleading - tryouts/practices begin
Saturday, August 24th – Football contact practices begin
Thursday, August 29th – All other fall sports (Field Hockey, Volleyball, Soccer) - tryouts/practices begin
*Please contact coaches for specific dates/times/locations.

TBA

TBA

Cheerleading

 

Greg

Tutolo

Cross Country - Boys Head

gtutolo@eosmith.org

Jorge

Guerra

Cross Country - Girls - Head

jguerra@eosmith.org

Katie

Grigely

Field Hockey - J.V.

kgrigely@eosmith.org

Sadie

Robinson

Field Hockey - Varsity Head

srobinson@eosmith.org

James

Kelly

Football - Varsity Head

jkelly@eosmith.org

John

Blomstrann

Soccer - Boys - Varsity Head

jblomstrann@eosmith.org

Karyn

Zlotnick

Soccer - Girls - J.V. and V. Assistant

kzlotnick@eosmith.org

Gui

Estes

Soccer - Girls - Varsity Head

gestes@eosmith.org

Jeanette

Dellaripa

Swim and Diving - Girls - Dive Coach

jdellaripa@eosmith.org

Dan

Furman

Swim and Diving - Girls - Head

dfurman@eosmith.org

Katie

Dobratz

Volleyball - Fresh.

kdobratz@eosmith.org

Janice

Castle

Volleyball - J.V.

jcastle@eosmith.org

TBA

TBA

Volleyball - Varsity Head

 

 

 Go Panthers!




For safety and security reasons, we are no longer posting practice times on the website.  Please consult with coaches for practices times and locations.


Game Schedules By Sport
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.